UFC 217 Quick Results: GSP wins Middleweight Championship


After having the first card just under one year ago at Madison Square Garden, the UFC has returned to the Big Apple this evening with UFC 217 going down in New York City.  The card is headlined by Georges St-Pierre as the former Welterweight Champion makes his first return after retiring four years ago as he is changeling Michael Bisping for his Middleweight Title.

The card will also feature two more title bouts as Cody Garbrandt puts his undefeated record and  Bantamweight title against former champ TJ Dillashaw.  Joanna Jedrzejczyk was also put her undefeated record and Strawweight title against Rose Namajunas.  The card is stacked from top to bottom as it has the makings on paper for a classic.  Here is how the action has gone so far

Main Card:

185lbs-Georges St.Pierre defeats Michael Bisping by Submisson (Rear Naked Choke)at 4:23 in the 3rd round

Georges St-Pierre is the new UFC Middleweight Champion

135lbs-TJ Dillashaw defeats Cody Garbrandt by KO at 2:41 in the 2nd round

TJ Dillashaw is the new UFC Benchmarking Champion

115lb-Rose Namajunas defeats  Joanna Jedrzejczyk by KO at 3:03 in the 1st round

Rose Namajunas is the new UFC women’s strawweight champion

170lbs- Stephen Thompson defeats Jorge Masvidal by Unanimous Decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
185lbs-Paulo Costa defeats Johny Hendricks by TKO at 1:23 in the 2nd round

Preliminary Card

155lbs-James Vick defeats James Duffy by TKO  (Punches) at 4:59 in the 2nd round
265lbs-Mark Godbeer defeats Walt Harris by Disqualification (Illegal Head Kick) at 4:29 in the 2nd round
205lbs-Ovince St. Preux defeats Corey Anderson by KO (Head kick) at 1:25 in the 3rd Round
170lbs- Randy Brown defeats Mickey Gall by Unanimous Decison (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)
265lbs- Curtis Blaydes def. Aleksei Oleynik via TKO (doctor stoppage) at 1:56 in the 2nd round
135lbs-Ricardo Ramos defeats Aiemann Zahabi by KO (Spinning Elbow) at 1:58 in the 3rd round


Leave a Reply

Some HTML is OK