Fans Vote Birchak vs Jones to Main Event of MFC 38

By:

MFC38Bantamweights(MFC Press Release)

For the first time ever, the Maximum Fighting Championship let the fans decide the main event of an upcoming show.

The ‘PunchTheVote’ campaign has wrapped up and the fans voted for the main event they most wanted to see get top billing. The results have been tabulated and MFC 38: Behind Enemy Lines will truly be a night of firsts.

MFC 38 is the first time the Maximum Fighting Championship boasts three title fights on the same night. And fittingly, the very first MFC bantamweight champion will be crowned in the night’s true main event.

Though it came down to the wire in fan voting cast via Twitter and Facebook, the MFC bantamweight title fight pitting Anthony Birchak against Tito “Ronin” Jones has the honor of being the main event for MFC 38.

The bantamweight matchup narrowly slipped past the middleweight title fight featuring “Smilen” Sam Alvey against Jason “The Mover” South in the voting. The heavyweight tilt with Smealinho “The Prince” Rama facing Anthony “Freight Train” Hamilton will be the first of the three title fights on Friday, October 4 from the Shaw Conference Centre in Edmonton, Alberta, and airing live on AXS TV Fights.

“All three of these title fights are deserving of main-event status, so we wanted to hear what the fans had to say, and they decided which of the three they felt belonged with top billing,” said Scott Zerr, Director of Media & Fighter Relations for the Maximum Fighting Championship.

Along with the three title fights, the MFC 38 lineup features a critical matchup in the lightweight division as Jonatas “Peixe Frito” Novaes enters a hotly anticipated rematch with Kurt “The Hurt” Southern – the winner being guaranteed a shot at the MFC lightweight title in 2014.

Also on the main card for MFC 38 is a bout pitting hot prospect Teddy “The Bear” Ash against durable veteran Jared “The Yeti” McComb, plus a lightweight tussle with Aaron “Gorilla” Gallant taking on Matt Jelly.

The MFC 38 broadcast on AXS TV Fights begins at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT, and the MFC 38 prelims air live on the Maximum Fighting Championship’s Facebook page beginning at 8:15 p.m. ET/6:15 p.m. MT/5:15 p.m. PT.

Tickets for MFC 38: Behind Enemy Lines are available at www.ticketmaster.ca and by calling the MFC Ticket Hotline at (780) 504-2024.

 

 

6 Responses to “ Fans Vote Birchak vs Jones to Main Event of MFC 38 ”

  1. PUCK says:

    MMMmmm so forget the co-main looks like Rama is the #3?

    Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0

  2. Donald Duck says:

    I love that the stats aren’t published…. what happened did only three people vote?

    Donnie

    Thumb up 3 Thumb down 1

  3. BOOBOO says:

    BULLSHIT !

    I HOPE RAMA STEALS THE SHOW , THE TITLE AND SHOVES IT UP PAVS ASS !

    Thumb up 5 Thumb down 2

  4. wuzjustsayin says:

    How did we miss this great news??

    “Fight Network Signs Three-Year TV Deal with MFC”

    http://fightnetwork.com/news/41645:fight-network-signs-three-year-tv-deal-with-mfc/

    Thumb up 4 Thumb down 1

  5. Cody Rempel says:

    Too bad it’s still a 2 week delay, I wish they’d make AXS TV available on all the cable providers!

    Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0

  6. K Rasmus says:

    Its 3 main events on 1 show !!! Good on the MFC .

    Thumb up 4 Thumb down 2

Leave a Reply

Some HTML is OK