Joe Soto – The First Bellator Champion


Joe Soto

The undefeated Joe Soto dominated Yahir Reyes in the Bellator Featherweight tournament finale.  After dominating Yahir Reyes in the first round using his ground and pound, Joe Soto ultimately secured his $100,000 victory cheque with a fight ending Rear Naked Choke submission in the second round.  Soto improved his record to 7-0 with his victory.  Soto will now return in September to defend his Featherweight belt in Bellator’s second season.

Here are the full results for the Ontario, California card:

Joe Soto submitted Yahir Reyes via Rear Naked Choke in Round 2, 4:11
Wilson Reis defeated Roberto Vargas via Split Decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Bryan Baker defeated Matt Horwich via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)
Diego Garijo submitted Saad Awad via Rear Naked Choke in Round 1, 4:45
Israel Giron submitted Phillip Brown via Rear Naked Choke in Round 1, 2:42
Travis Browne defeated Mychal Clark via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Jesse Juarez defeated Mikey Gomez via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Nick Moghaddam defeated Lamar Jiles via Disqualification (Illegal Knee Strike) in Round 2, 4:14

Leave a Reply

Some HTML is OK