Bellator Tournament Finalists Set


Bellator Fighting ChampionshipsBellator’s debut season is nearing conclusion as the Featherweight, Lightweight, Welterweight, and Middleweight finalists have now been decided.  Over the next three weeks, the four winners will be determined.  The winner of each bracket will earn $100,000 for his efforts to bring their total earnings to $175,000.

In the Featherweight final, Yahir Reyes will face Joe Soto.  The fight will happen June 5th in Ontario, California.  Reyes is best known for his spinning back fist knock out over Estevan Paya.  Soto knocked off undefeated tournament favorite Wilson Reis in the semi-final.

An exciting Lightweight matchup will feature heavy favorite Eddie Alvarez facing Toby Imada.  Alvarez shone in last year’s DREAM 2009 Lightweight Grand Prix before having to withdraw after an injury obtained in a Fight of the Year performance with Tatsuya Kawajiri.  Alvarez has had a few scares in the Bellator tourney but always came back to win.  Meanwhile, Toby Imada ruined a highly anticipated Jorge Masvidal/Eddie Alvarez final by pulling off the submission of the century.  Imada had lost all rounds and was on his way to losing the third when he caught Masvidal with an inverted triangle.  The Lightweight final will be held June 19 at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino.

Omar De La Cruz versus Lyman Good are the Welterweight finalists.  The June 12th final will be held at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut.  De La Cruz stunned former UFC champion Dave Menne with a first round KO in the semi-finals.  Good is undefeated at 9-0 and stopped both of his Bellator opponents on the way to the finals.Stand N Bang Fight Wear

June 19th will also be the date for the Middleweight finals.  Hector Lombard will face Jared Hess to fight for the $100,000.  Lombard is the favorite over the undefeated Hess.  Neither fighter went to a decision in the tournament while Lombard looked very impressive with first round wins in both of his fights.

Bellator Featherweight Final
* Yahir Reyes (14-5) vs Joe Soto (6-0)

Bellator Lightweight Final
* Eddie Alvarez (17-2) vs Toby Imada (22-12)

Bellator Welterweight Final
* Lyman Good (9-0) vs Omar De La Cruz (5-1)

Bellator Middleweight Final
* Hector Lombard (20-2-1) vs Jared Hess (9-0-1)

Leave a Reply

Some HTML is OK