Russia Red Devils Capture 2008 M-1 Challenge



The M-1 Challenge Cup final was held in Holland on January 11.  Originally scheduled for December 26 in Seattle, the 2008 Finals were postponed due to heavy snowfall in the Washington State. Unlike the M-1 Challenge regular season, the fights in the finals would consist of three rounds rather than two.  The visiting Team Russia took the finals 4-1 from the home Dutch side to become the inaugural Challenge Cup champions.

M-1 Challenge Finals – Russian Red Devils vs Team Holland:

LW: Mikhail Malutin (Team Russian Red Devil) defeated Bogdan Christea (Team Holland) by Split Decision

WW: Erik Oganov (Team Russian Red Devil) defeated Romano des los Reyes (Team Holland) by Unanimous Decision

MW: Jason Jones (Team Holland) defeated Dimitri Samoylo (Team Russian Red Devil) by Unanimous Decision

LHW: Mikhail Zayats (Team Russian Red Devil) submitted David Haagsma (Team Holland) by Armbar in Round 1 3:25
***Haagsma was a late replacement for Kamil Ogun who was feverish and the doctor would not allow him to fight.

HW: Alexey Oleinik (Team Russian Red Devil) submitted Jessie Gibbs (Team Holland) by Front Choke in Round 2 3:42

Remainder of Card

Radimir Gabdullin (Russia) submitted Kim Hoon (Korea) by Triangle Choke in Round 2 0:25

Toni Valtonen (Finland) defeated Lee Chang Seob (Korea) by TKO (Slam) in Round 3 1:03

Enoc Solves (Spain) defeated Whi Sung Bae (Korea) by Unanimous Decision

Lee Sang Soo (Korea) defeated Ricardo Wondel (Holland) by TKO (Injury Broken Thumb) in Round 1 2:41


Leave a Reply

Some HTML is OK