Updated Strikeforce Destruction Card


Two weeks ago, Cageplay.com brought you news that Kim Couture was signed to the November 21 Strikeforce Destruction card.  Today, Strikeforce Vice-President Mike Afromowitz has informed Cageplay.com that they have signed Terry Martin to fight Scott Smith for the same card.

Martin was last seen fighting Cory Devela at the last Strikeforce event at the Playboy mansion.  Scott Smith will be looking to get back on the win side of the column after losing his EliteXC title bout to Robbie Lawler on EliteXC on CBS II on July 26.  Although taking the match on short notice, Smith was preparing for a November 9 fight on the cancelled EliteXC November 8 card.  Unlike other EliteXC fighters, Smith’s contract is not in limbo with a defunct ProElite as his contract allows him to fight for other organizations.

“This is one of the those matchups where there’s no chance it won’t be a great fight,” said the 29-year-old Smith. “He’s a better boxer and I’m a better kickboxer,” said Smith. “I want to keep the fight standing. I know he likes to stand and bang so it’s looking to be a slugfest.

In addition to Martin vs. Smith, it was previously announced last week that Josh Thomson would be unable to defend his title at this event due to a broken toe.  Instead, Duane “Bang” Ludwig will face Yves Edwards in a Lightweight battle.

Here is the full Strikeforce Destruction card:

Main Event

Renato “Babalu” Sobral (30-7) vs. Bobby Southworth (9-5) (champion)
***Strikeforce Light Heavyweight Championship Fight

Co-Main Event

Terry Martin (18-5) vs. Scott Smith (13-5)

Remainder of Card

Luke Stewart (6-1) vs. Joe “Diesel” Riggs (28-10)

Yves Edwards (34-14-1) vs. Duane “Bang” Ludwig (17-8)

Kim Couture (0-1) vs. Lina Kvokov (0-1)

Lemont Davis (2-1) vs. Brian Schwartz (0-1)

Brad Royster (1-1) vs. Darren Uyenoyama (4-2)

Tony Johnson (3-0) vs. Eric Lawson (7-2)

Alvin Cacdac (4-4) vs. Jose Palacios (3-1)

Bobby Stack (5-1) vs. Cyrillo Padilha (2-2)

Zakary Bucia (0-1) vs. Jaime Rodriguez (0-0)

Kurt Osiander (3-0) vs. Raul Castillo (5-0)

Nik Theotikos (5-1) vs. Luke Rockhold (2-1)

Leave a Reply

Some HTML is OK